Sunday, January 18, 2009

Why Am I Awake???

You all may be sorry I asked that question!! Oh man what a freaking night/early morning. I am convinced that the people running Picerne and our neighborhood office have no common sense let alone a whole functioning brain!!!! We had just finished watching a movie and we were getting ready to head up to bed around 11:57. Well the pipes in our uninsulated outside wall had other ideas yet again. Now I grew up in Indiana and I have a pretty good amount of common sense (usually) so I know about disconnecting waterhoses, shutting off the inside valves for the water hoses, I also know to leave faucets dripping so the lines don't freeze. All of which were done in this lovely house (heavy sarcasm) we live in. But I also know if you won't insulate the walls where the pipes are located let alone the freaking pipes, they are GOING to freeze!!! Now this is the 3rd time this has happened since we moved into this particular house in August of 2005. We asked yet again when the "maintenance man" showed up and finally got the damn main water valve shut off (it was supposed to be replaced before now) if they would insulate the pipes or the walls at the very least and guess what he said?? Guess, I dare you, I bet you get it right!! He said "no we can't do that". Before Todd or I could say I word, Chelsea said "Why not?" and he wouldn't give us an answer. Now about that main water valve shut off that is in the utility room...from the last week of November til the 4th of December we had 3 different "maintenance men" out here to make sure all the valves for water hoses were shut off and that hoses were disconnected. We have little doors that open in the inside walls with shut off valves for the water hoses. Well the one for out front just spins in circles and you can't shut it off. So all 3 of these Picerne "workers" tried to shut off the main water valve so they could replace the one for the hose that won't shut off, none of them could get the main valve shut off. So they decide we need the main water shut off valve replaced (DUH) "cause that's not safe" (double duh!) and so they can replace the valve to shut the water off to the hose. Well in order for all of this to happen, they apparently need to get a private contractor to order the part and apparently that part is coming from China (like everything else) on a VERY SLOW boat. I have called the office several times since Dec. 4th to check on said part, and big surprise it is never in and they still don't know anything!!! GRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!! Back to tonight, well the girls gathered up every freakin towel we have and made one heck of a pile to help keep the water from flooding the whole dining/living room area. Todd got the main valve to move some more but then it wouldn't budge, well after dealing with stupid people on the phone and being told that the closest on call loser was 45 minutes away, I got super ticked and managed to get it to turn some more, then it wouldn't move. The loser finally after trying a few times managed to turn it off without breaking it!!!! SHOCK! He made a few nasty comments, which me being who I am will report the crap he said and make a complaint against the rude jerk. I almost threw something at him, but decided I shouldn't. So he cut the pipe off, put a shut off valve on it, had the carpet people suck the water out of the carpet. Now Monday someone will be here to finish fixing the damn pipe, redo the drywall and shampoo my carpet. Or will they??? We shall see. So now I have to stay up and do at least one load of towels so Chelsea can take a shower before she goes to work in the morning and because they were in 2 buckets, the washing machine and my kitchen sink dripping wet!!! The good thing about this whole situation??? Well that would be that it happened here and not at my house in Indiana, and thank you God for that blessing. Well if you made it this far, WOW :) I hope no one else has to deal with frozen, bursting pipes.

1 comment:

Theresa said...

I'm wishing that I had something very profound to say here, but I've got nothing! Heck I can't even say that I'm surprised because I'm not. So many years and so many time of dealing with the same thing...well DUH it is just wrong! I hope that you were able to finally get some sleep, and that today is a better day. Oh and maybe you guys could come up with a better "Family Time" activity! :)
Huge Huge Hugs being sent to you!

Music

Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones